top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshlee L

Review: The Lost Lieutenant


The Lost Lieutenant

Erica Vetsch

5/5 Stars



Well considered me hooked! This was the


first book I've read by Erica Vetsch and I cannot say enough good things about it. I had seen so many people talking about this book that it peaked my interest and I had to get my hands on it. I was not disappointed. All the characters were fantastic. I found myself literally laughing out loud at parts and smiling huge at others.


Poor Evan gets thrust into the world of nobility after a heroic act he can't even remember. He's only known life as a "commoner" and a solider, but now finds himself taking on the role of an earl. The Prince Regent constantly shows up to "reward" him, but ends up making more chaos along the way. He ends up marrying poor Diana simply because the prince said he should and no one can say no to the prince. Almost the whole book, I can imagine Marcus just off to the side or in the background just laughing to himself about all the crazy antics. Though, he does have a serious side you get to see. I loved watching the growing relationship between Evan and Diana. It felt like a natural progression and was so sweet.


There were some twists and turns in this book which I didn't see coming. I think that's a good thing because it kept me on my toes and wasn't super predictable. At the same time, there wasn't this overwhelming feeling of drama and doom that made reading difficult. There was a good balance. I feel like I devoured this book and couldn't put it down. Seriously, work and other responsibilities really cut into my reading time when all I wanted to do was keep going.


I highly recommend this book, even if more historical based stories aren't fully your jam. I tend to read more contemporary reads, but do enjoy a good historical fiction every once in awhile and this was one of the best ones I've read. I will definitely be interested in reading the next one, which I believe follows Marcus and I'm excited to see more of him!


I received a complimentary copy of this book, but I am leaving an honest and voluntary review.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page